ACE2

Available for immediate delivery

Please log in to subscribe to product related news.
144,93

ACE2 stands for Amiga Chipram Extender 2MBytes. It is installed in the socket of the Fat Agnus chip of your OCS/ECS Amiga. ACE2 is compatible with these Amiga models:

  • A500 up to board rev. 7
  • A1500 and A2000, Rev. 4.1 and higher
  • CDTV
  • A2500 Rev. 4.1 and higher

In addition to installation in the Agnus socket, ACE2 gets more signals from the Gary chip. The adapter that goes between the Gary and the main board is part of the product.

As opposed to previous designs of the 1990s, no jumpers on the main board or memory expansions need to be changed, and no soldering needs to be performed. Further, ACE2 does not rely on existing memory to be present: The complete 2MBytes of Chip ram is located on ACE2, and the chip ram on the main board of your computer will not be used any more. If you have a trapdoor memory expansion in your A500 computer, it can remain in it's place, but ACE2 will automatically switch it off - even if it does not have a switch. This way, you can install a trapdoor memory expansion for it's realtime clock, even if the memory part of that expansion is not working any more.

While the functionality of ACE2 is not new to the Amiga world, we dare to claim that it's the easiest to install with the fewest possibilities for error. However, it's by far more complicated to install than many other product of ours, so you may need to get help from an expert if you have never removed a PLCC chip from it's socket before.

ACE2 uses an ECS Agnus that is switchable between PAL and NTSC video mode by software. It is compatible with Genlock interfaces. ACE2 starts up in NTSC mode. If you own an ACA500 or ACA500plus, you can fix the video mode to your preferred setting.

This product uses two key components that are not available on the world market any more: The 2MB ECS Agnus chip and the PLCC84 adapter socket. It is a one-time production run with no chance for more units. We have therefore decided to use a progressive pricing model: The first units will sell for a lower amount, and the price will rise until it has reached 169.92 EUR for the last available boards. Prices include 19% VAT. Shipments to non-EU locations will be lower by this VAT rate after you have entered your shipping address. Due to the varying price, the product may be shown as "out of stock" temporarily. Just come back a few hours later.

Pictures may vary; A500 shown for illustration purpose only, computer is not in the scope of delivery. Please mind that we will only sell a maximum of two units per customer. We will cancel any order without further notice that is attempting to exceed this limit. §3.3 of the terms&conditions does not apply.

ACE2b

Auf Lager

Bitte anmelden um produktbezogene Nachrichten zu erhalten.
159,96

ACE2 steht für Amiga Chipram Erweiterung 2MByte. Diese Erweiterung wird im Sockel des Fat Agnus Chip eines OCS/ECS Amiga installiert. ACE2b ist der Name des Nachfolgers mit identischen technischen Daten. Er ist kompatibel mit folgenden Amiga Modellen:

  • A500 bis board Revision 7
  • A1500 und A2000, Revision 4.1 und Höhere
  • CDTV
  • A2500 Revision 4.1 und Höhere

Zusätzlich zur Installation im Agnus-Sockel bekommt ACE2b noch Signale vom Gary-Chip. Der dafür nötige Adapter, welcher zwischen den Gary-Chip und das Mainboard gesteckt wird, gehört zum Lieferumfang.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Designs, welche in den 1990er Jahren angeboten wurden, muss für den Einbau von ACE2b kein Jumper geändert werden und es sind auch keine Lötarbeiten erforderlich. ACE2b benötigt keinen Speicher vom Mainbaord oder anderen Speichererweiterungen. Die kompletten 2MByte Chipram sind auf ACE2b vorhanden, so dass der Speicher auf dem Main board nicht mehr verwendet wird. Auch eine Speichererweiterung unter der Bodenklappe eines A500 wird nicht mehr benötigt - sie kann jedoch an ihrem Platz bleiben, damit die Echtzeituhr weiter verwendet werden kann. Der Speicher einer solchen Erweiterung wird von ACE2b abgeschaltet, auch wenn die Erweiterung selbst keinen Schalter hat. So kann selbst eine teildefekte Erweiterung noch in einem A500 nützlich sein.

Auch wenn die Funktionalität von ACE2b nichts Neues ist, wagen wir zu behaupten, dass es die Erweiterung dieser Klasse ist, welche am einfachsten einzubauen ist, weil es die geringste Anzahl Fehlermöglichkeiten gibt. Dennoch ist die Installation sehr viel komplizierter als bei allen anderen Produkten aus unserem Hause. Falls Sie noch nie einen PLCC-Chip aus seinem Sockel geholt haben, sollten Sie unbedingt Hilfe von einem erfahrenen Techniker oder Amiga-Bastler in Anspruch nehmen.

ACE2b ist mit einem ECS-Agnus ausgestattet, der zwischen dem PAL und NTSC Videostandard umgeschaltet werden kann. Kompatibilität mit Genlock Interfaces ist gegeben. ACE2b startet im NTSC Video mode. Falls Sie eine ACA500 oder ACA500plus besitzen, kann der Videostandard beim Start eingestellt werden, ansonsten kann im early startup menu des Kickstart, oder in den Screenmode-Prefs der Videostandard umgestellt werden.

Bilder zeigen ACE2b in einem A500 Board, das nicht zum Lieferumfang gehört.