RR-Net MK3

Available for immediate delivery

Please log in to subscribe to product related news.
59,94

RR-Net MK3 is the direct follow-up product to the popular 10MBit networking cards for the C64 that we've provided for over 10 years.

Other than previous announcements, we've decided to continue using the same ethernet chip that we've used on the two predecessor models: The Crystal CS8900a. That means: All networking software that is already available for the C64 will work on this new networking card out-of-the-box: Contiki, Codenet and WarpCopy can be used in their current versions without the need to wait for any update!

With RR-Net MK3, we're answering the calls from many C64 users who wanted Ethernet, but refused to buy a "carrier card" that features the clockport that was previously required for operating one of the predecessor models (for example Retro Replay, MMC64, MMC Replay or Chameleon). The result of this new development is that the new design can be used in two ways: You can either connect it to the clockport of a carrier-card (exactly the same way like the predecessor RR-Net MK2), or you can plug it directly to the expansion port of the C64.

If plugged to an MMC Replay or Chameleon, you can still close your cartridge case. For plugging directly to the C64, our cartridge cases cannot be used. There are 3D-printed cases available for a much higher price.

One added feature of this new design is the 8k flash rom. This is used as a startup-ROM if the unit is plugged directly to a C64. If you plug RR-Net MK3 to the clockport of a "carrier card", only a few bytes of the ROM are available - just enough to store the MAC address of the unit, and put an end to the constant guessing that you had to do with the predecessor models. Further, with modern switches and routers checking the MAC address for security reasons, RR-Net MK3 will identify properly as a legit Ethernet device.

Pictures show the prototype of the unit. Actual appearance varies: PCBs are blue, LEDs green (link) and yellow (activity), and contact fingers are gold-plated. Package only includes RR-Net MK3 and an instruction sheet. Software not included, but available for free download.

Using the RR-Net MK3 as a cartridge without carrier card does not work with C128, SX-64 and very old C64 mainboard versions.

For detailed specifications and related downloads please look at our wiki.

RR-Net MK3

Auf Lager

59,94

RR-Net MK3 ist der direkte Nachfolger unserer populären 10MBit Netzwerkkarte für den C64, die wir vor über zehn Jahren als weltweit erste in Serie gefertigte Netzwerkkarte für den C64 auf den Markt gebracht haben.

Im Gegensatz zu früheren Ankündigungen haben wir uns dazu entschlossen, den bewährten Ethernet Chip der zwei Vorgängerkarten beizubehalten: Den Crystal CS8900a. Das bedeutet, dass die existierende Netzwerksoftware für den C64 auch mit dieser Karte weiter verwendet werden kann: Contiki, Codenet und WarpCopy können in ihren jeweils aktuellen Versionen ohne Update weiter verwendet werden.

Mit RR-Net MK3 reagieren wir auf die Wünsche vieler Kunden, die für ihren C64 Ethernet haben möchten, jedoch keine zusätzliche "Trägerkarte" wie Chameleon, Retro Replay oder MMC Replay zu kaufen (für die Vorgängerversionen waren für den Clockport dieser Karten gedacht). Das Ergebnis unserer Entwicklung ist, dass das neue Design an zwei Interfaces verwendet werden kann: Entweder an den Clockport einer anderen C64-Erweiterung (also genau wie die Vorgängermodelle), oder direkt am Modulport des C64.

Beim Aufstecken auf das MMC Replay oder Chameleon kann das Modulgehäuse geschlossen werden. Wenn RR-Net MK3 direkt an den C64 angeschlossen wird, können Sie kein Gehäuse verwenden.

Ein besonderes Merkmal dieses neuen Designs ist das 8k Flashrom. Wenn RR-Net MK3 im Modulschacht des C64 benutzt wird, dient es als Start-ROM (Codenet-Server vorinstalliert). Wenn Sie RR-Net MK3 auf den Clockport einer "Trägerkarte" betreiben, sind nur ein paar Bytes des Flashrom verwendbar - gerade genug, um die MAC-Adresse der Netzwerkkarte zu speichern. So haben wir dem ständigen Ausprobieren von freien MAC-Adressen, was bei den Vorgängerversionen notwendig war, ein Ende gesetzt.

Lieferumfang: RR-Net MK3 und Kurzanleitung. Software nicht enthalten, steht aber zum kostenlosen Download im Internet bereit (Links in unserem Wiki).

RR-Net MK3 funktioniert nicht bei Direktanschluss an SX64 und sehr alte C64-Modelle. Für diese Computer ist weiterhin eine Trägerkarte mit Clockport erforderlich.

Technische Details und Downloads entnehmen Sie bitte unserem Wiki.